Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Community Search
Incorporating Discovery into Developmental Mathematics
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

Students can develop a deeper understanding of mathematical concepts when they are allowed to participate in the discovery of the concept rather than simply being lectured to. Learn about specific activities and assignments that the presenter has used in his own classroom to help students participate in the discovery of algebraic concepts.

4/19/2017
When: 4/19/2017
4:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Where: United States
Contact: AMATYC Office
901.333.5643


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

  

Speaker:  George Woodbury

Sponsoring Committee:  Developmental Mathematics and the Innovative Teaching and Learning Committee (ITLC)

Date:   Wednesday, April 19th

Time:  4:00pm EDT / 3:00pm CDT / 2:00 pm MDT / 1:00 pm PDT

Description:    Students can develop a deeper understanding of mathematical concepts when they are allowed to participate in the discovery of the concept rather than simply being lectured to.  Learn about specific activities and assignments that the presenter has used in his own classroom to help students participate in the discovery of algebraic concepts.  For example, you can learn to use Desmos to help students discover how to graph new functions such as quadratic functions or to learn how translations affect the graph of a function through experimentation. Interested in the flipped classroom strategy?  Learn how Youtube videos can be used in conjunction with an online homework system to help students learn basic fundamentals outside of the classroom before a topic is covered in class, allowing students to discover material before you discuss it with them.  There will also be a discussion of providing students with the answer to a new problem, and then asking students to determine the procedure used to solve the problem.


Note:  Login instructions for webinar have changed.  There is an extra step.  Please notice the directions on the final confirmation page.

Sign In
Sign In securely
Calendar

5/22/2017
Teaching with GAISE: Statistical Literacy for the 21st Century

43rd Annual Conference
San Diego, CA
November 9-12, 2017


Connect with AMATYC