Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Community Search
IPUMS Data: Real-World Data for Teaching
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

This webinar will teach participants how to acquire data from the IPUMS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series) for use in teaching basic statistical concepts. IPUMS is a collection of data dissemination projects of the Minnesota Population Center (MPC) at the University of Minnesota, one of the world's leading developers of demographic data resources.

2/6/2017
When: 2/06/2017
12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Where: United States
Contact: AMATYC Office
901.333.5643


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

  

Speaker:  Lara Cleveland

Sponsoring Committee:  Joint Committee of AMATYC and the American Statistical Association (ASA)

Date:  Monday, February 6th 

Time:  12:00 pm EST / 11:00 am CST / 10:00 am MST / 9:00 am PST

Description:   This webinar will teach participants how to acquire data from the IPUMS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series) for use in teaching basic statistical concepts.  IPUMS is a collection of data dissemination projects of the Minnesota Population Center (MPC) at the University of Minnesota, one of the world's leading developers of demographic data resources.  IPUMS projects harmonize and deliver microdata samples from U.S. and International censuses and surveys to thousands of researchers, policymakers, teachers and students free of charge over the internet.  IPUMS allows users to select integrated microdata files from censuses and surveys through a user-friendly web-based dissemination system.  This webinar will familiarize participants with the data request system, provide an overview of variables and topics available, and demonstrate the online tabulation system.  Data available through the IPUMS cover a range of social topics including work and income, educational attainment, disability, race, and gender, among others. Data about the social world, such as those available through IPUMS, are especially useful for teaching data visualization and categorical data concepts.

 

Note:  Login instructions for webinar have changed.  There is an extra step.  Please notice the directions on the final confirmation page.

Sign In

Sign In securely

Haven't joined yet?

Calendar

4/19/2017
Incorporating Discovery into Developmental Mathematics

43rd Annual Conference
San Diego, CA
November 9-12, 2017


Connect with AMATYC