Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Community Search
21 Ways to Boost an Adjunct
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

This presentation will focus on one administrator’s ideas to boost effectiveness among adjunct faculty at Macomb CC. Participants in this session will be able to identify low-cost ways to boost teacher effectiveness and to formulate versions of these ideas for their own campuses.

1/18/2017
When: 01/18/2017
3:00 pm to 4:00 pm
Where: United States
Contact: AMATYC Office
901.333.5643


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

  

Speaker:  Michele Kelly

Sponsoring Committee:  Adjunct Faculty Issues Network

Date:  Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Time:  3:00 pm EST / 2:00 pm CST / 1:00 pm MST / 12:00 pm PST

Description:   Research on faculty type with regard to impact on student success is ambiguous.  However, two things are clear: we rely on adjunct faculty to teach a large portion of our developmental and first-year courses and adjunct faculty do not have equal access to the resources that support teaching excellence (e.g. office space, budget, or benefits).  Adjuncts have little control over the learning spaces or connection to the campus resources that may provide non-cognitive student support.  It is important for administrators to focus on meaningful opportunities to increase teaching effectiveness among adjunct faculty insofar as effectiveness is related to student learning, retention, and achievement.  This presentation will focus on one administrator’s ideas to boost effectiveness among adjunct faculty at Macomb CC.  Participants in this session will be able to identify low-cost ways to boost teacher effectiveness and to formulate versions of these ideas for their own campuses.

 

Note:  Login instructions for webinar have changed.  There is an extra step.  Please notice the directions on the final confirmation page.

Sign In

Sign In securely

Haven't joined yet?

Calendar

4/19/2017
Incorporating Discovery into Developmental Mathematics

43rd Annual Conference
San Diego, CA
November 9-12, 2017


Connect with AMATYC