Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Community Search
Part Two: The Game of Algebra
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

Part Two of the If I Knew Then What I Know Now three-part series by AMATYC's founding president Herb Gross.

11/3/2016
When: 11/03/2016
3:00 pm to 4:00 pm
Where: United States
Contact: AMATYC Office
901.333.5643


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

  

Speaker:  Herb Gross
 
Date:  Thursday, November 3, 2016

Sponsoring Committee:  Developmental Mathematics

Time:  3:00pm EDT / 2:00pm CDT / 1:00 pm MDT / 12:00 pm PDT

Description:  This second webinar will discuss the implications of the common student comment “The algebra course was easy.  I could do everything except the word problems”.  Sadly in the textbook of life there are only word problems (which, ironically in basic algebra can always be solved without the aid of algebra!).  To help students learn to internalize algebra better, Herb will share with us his concept of teaching algebra as a game in which the rules are the axioms of arithmetic (the field axioms) and the objective is to discover the inescapable consequences that follow logically from these rules.

 

Note:  Login instructions for webinar have changed.  There is an extra step.  Please notice the directions on the final confirmation page.

Sign In


Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?

Calendar

12/6/2016
Bootstraps - An Intuitive Introduction to Confidence Intervals

1/18/2017
21 Ways to Boost an Adjunct

43rd Annual Conference
San Diego, CA
November 9-12, 2017


Connect with AMATYC