Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Community Search
Part One: Have You Seen a Number?
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

Part One of the If I Knew Then What I Know Now three-part series by AMATYC's founding president Herb Gross.

10/13/2016
When: 10/13/2016
3:00 pm to 4:00 pm
Where: United States
Contact: AMATYC Office
901.333.5643


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

  

Speaker:  Herb Gross
 
Date:  Thursday, October 13, 2016

Sponsoring Committee:
 Developmental Mathematics

Time:  3:00pm EDT / 2:00pm CDT / 1:00 pm MDT / 12:00 pm PDT

Description:  This first webinar will discuss the assertion that students will internalize math better if we teach them to view numbers as adjectives that modify nouns. For example students recognize that both a million and a billion are “big” numbers.  However they get an “aha” moment when they see that a million seconds is less than 12 days but a billion seconds is more than 31 years!  Emphasis will be placed on the ways that this concept impacts the study of fractions. Students who cannot grasp fractions will most likely never successfully complete a degree or program in a STEM field.

 

Note:  Login instructions for webinar have changed.  There is an extra step.  Please notice the directions on the final confirmation page.

Sign In


Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?

Calendar

12/6/2016
Bootstraps - An Intuitive Introduction to Confidence Intervals

1/18/2017
21 Ways to Boost an Adjunct

43rd Annual Conference
San Diego, CA
November 9-12, 2017


Connect with AMATYC