Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Community Search
Teaching Introductory Statistics with Simulation-Based Inference
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

The goal of this webinar is to introduce teachers to the idea of revising introductory statistics courses to focus on the logic and scope of statistical inference by using simulation-based methods, as opposed to methods based on the normal probability distribution.

4/7/2016
When: 4/07/2016
1:00 pm to 2:00 pm
Where: United States
Contact: AMATYC Office
901.333.5643


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Title:  Teaching Introductory Statistics with Simulation-Based Inference

Speakers:
 Allan Rossman and Beth Chance

Sponsoring Committee:  Joint Committee of AMATYC and the American Statistical Association (ASA)

Date:   Thursday, April 7, 2016

Time:  1:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM CDT / 11:00 AM MDT / 10:00 AM PDT

Description:   The goal of this webinar is to introduce teachers to the idea of revising introductory statistics courses to focus on the logic and scope of statistical inference by using simulation-based methods, as opposed to methods based on the normal probability distribution.  The webinar will present hands-on activities designed to introduce students to concepts of statistical inference in settings involving a single proportion/probability and also in studies that involve comparing two groups.  These activities make use of freely available applets to explore concepts and analyze real data from genuine research studies.  Presenters will also offer advice about effective implementation and assessment of student learning.



Note:  Login instructions for webinar will be sent by email one or two days prior to the start date.

Sign In


Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?

Calendar

12/6/2016
Bootstraps - An Intuitive Introduction to Confidence Intervals

1/18/2017
21 Ways to Boost an Adjunct

43rd Annual Conference
San Diego, CA
November 9-12, 2017


Connect with AMATYC