Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Community Search
RESCHEDULED Webinar: Incorporating the use of Real Data and R in a Statistics Course
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

The Guidelines for Assessment and Instruction in Statistics Education (GAISE) report issued by the American Statistical Association highlights six main recommendations for teaching statistics. Two of those recommendations will be highlighted in this webinar: to use real data and use technology when analyzing data.

4/14/2015
When: 4/14/2015
3:00 pm to 4:00 pm
Contact: AMATYC Office
901.333.6243


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

 

** RESCHEDULED EVENT **

Title:  Incorporating the use of Real Data and R in a Statistics Course

Speaker:   Kelly Fitzpatrick

Sponsoring Committee:   Joint Committee of AMATYC and the American Statistical Association (ASA)

Date:  April 14, 2015

Time:   3:00pm EDT / 2:00pm CDT / 1:00pm MDT / 12:00 noon PDT

Description:   The internet provides us with an overabundance of free real world data available for statistical analysis.  The Guidelines for Assessment and Instruction in Statistics Education (GAISE) report issued by the American Statistical Association highlights six main recommendations for teaching statistics.  Two of those recommendations will be highlighted in this webinar: to use real data and use technology when analyzing data. R is a free, open-source statistical software package.  Descriptive measures, graphing, combinations, regression analysis and simulations will be performed in R. Real world examples are analyzed from the snowfall in New York City, stock analysis, the unemployment rate in the US and baseball statistics.   There is something for everyone; experience the power of R!

*Note:  If you registered for the March 5 webinar, you do not have to re-register. 

 

Sign In


Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?

Calendar

11/17/2016 » 11/20/2016
42nd Annual Conference, Denver CO

42nd Annual Conference
Denver, CO
November 17-20, 2016


Connect with AMATYC