Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Community Search
Interpreting Graphical Displays of Data
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

Graphical displays of data are sometimes difficult to interpret. Textbooks often use overly simple examples that don't reflect the ambiguity that can occur in displays of real data.

12/8/2014
When: 12/08/2014
3:00 pm to 4:00 pm
Contact: AMATYC Office
901.333.6243


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

 

Title: Interpreting Graphical Displays of Data

Speaker: Roxy Peck

Sponsoring Committee: Statistics

Date: Monday, December 8, 2014

Time: 3:00pm EST / 2:00pm CST / 1:00pm MST / Noon PST

Description: Graphical displays of data are sometimes difficult to interpret. Textbooks often use overly simple examples that don't reflect the ambiguity that can occur in displays of real data. Important considerations include:

• How closely do graphical displays based on sample data tend to resemble the population distribution?

• What does “approximately” symmetric mean and how far from symmetric does a sample distribution have to be before we would call it skewed?

• How far from linear does a pattern in a normal probability plot have to be before we would say that the population distribution is not normal?

• What kinds of patterns in residual plots should cause us to question whether a linear model is appropriate?

Using activities suitable for classroom use, this webinar will explore these questions and also take a look at how sample size comes into play when trying to answer these questions.

Sign In


Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?

Calendar

12/6/2016
Bootstraps - An Intuitive Introduction to Confidence Intervals

1/18/2017
21 Ways to Boost an Adjunct

43rd Annual Conference
San Diego, CA
November 9-12, 2017


Connect with AMATYC